"Paint the Trail" 5K

“Paint the Trail” 5K

IMG_1919[1]

May 4, 2014

I was blessed to participate in my second 5k walk … but what was totally priceless was the fact my girls went along and we did this one together!! Even Davaney (my 7-year-old granddaughter). The pictures I’ve shared were taken the day of the event — a before and after pose. The event was called “Paint the Trail”, and at each 1/2 mile marker, we’d get ‘splashed with color’. The terrain was a challenge, in fact, the course was originally made for a cross country team to use. I admit I was worn out after only one (yes, 1) mile, and felt a little discouraged as my girls decided to jog and suddenly I found myself “alone”. At this point, I honestly felt like I’d reached my stopping point. The problem was: I was in the middle of a wooded trail, 60 miles from home, with real NO CLUE of my exact whereabouts. I pushed onward, and focused on the time to pray. I recalled the purpose of this walk: to benefit Relay for Life and the many cancer fighters. I decided my discomfort and thirst was nothing compared to what cancer patients endure in their fight. I began to lift names to God of family and friends battling, some that had lost their fight, and soon realized: I can do this and I will finish. I made the entire trail and I used the challenging times to lift names of many cancer fighters in my life!

Friends, it’s that time of year in my community where we promote cancer awareness, host relays and fund raise to support the American Cancer Society. I have battled this disease as a caregiver … and lost some very special people to it. I stayed by my Dad’s side during his last days on this earth, and witnessed his last breath. It was so hard to let go, but his suffering was also so difficult to witness. I’m preparing to support my husband, Bill, in his fight. After 9 back surgeries, we recently learned that he had prostate cancer. It was a difficult time, and the reality of this is still sinking in – and I still often wonder how he really feels each day. It’s a struggle, but I have to continue trusting and believing in God’s plan for our lives. Whatever we’re facing, He’s totally in charge — whatever lies ahead, well, He’s got that all figured out as well.

For today, I pray for strength … I pray for my family and many others that are suffering from cancer. For those suffering from other forms of pain. I pray for the Murphy family, as they await the verdict, still not having many answers.

I encourage you to share your comments below. I’d love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “

  1. What an inspirational Blog! I love this Amy! You are so strong and you are an inspiration to others with your strong faith and strong relationship with God! I’ll be adding your family to my prayer list and asking my Church to pray for you all as well, as you take this journey with your husband! God has a plan… and he will put us where we need to be! If it’s okay I would like to share this Blog with my Ladies Bible Study group?

  2. You are an inspiration to me, Amy. As life has thrown so many hurdles at our family the last few years, it’s hard to see the good in these circumstances. I do trust Him to provide the purpose for each event, knowing the blessings will ultimately be revealed. You keep me encouraged in the faith. Sometimes, the only thing we can do is pray because we, as humans, are absolutely helpless to the cause. I’m feeling so thankful that our God is never helpless and we never suffer alone. He feels our pain and heals our wounds in time. Love you, dear friend!

Leave a Reply

